~*Ames Nowell State Park*~ Late July *~* Part 1 of 2 *~*

Welcome to my brand new never done before {by me} series. In this new and exciting series of blog posts, I will be paying a tribute to Summer, as it seems to slowly be slipping away from me. Each post will promise an exciting “Adventure in Time” as well as a look back throughout this past Summer. All posts will be found in a new category to the right titled “A Look Back on Summer 2013” I will try to not re-post something I have previously done, but if I do, it will be in a different format, such as my favorite picture or place etc…

I am pleased you decided to join me for my first “look back”. Tonight’s post is from a place we have frequented before Ames Nowell State Park, in Abington, Ma. This will also be the first of two separate posts so be sure to check back soon for part two. Lets stroll back to late July…Shall we?

~Part 1 Flowers, Bugs and Fowls~

On this trip to Ames Nowell we were both armed with our camera’s but oddly enough nothing caught my eye, though there clearly was much to be seen! The following two posts are pictures that Brett captured. While I was very busily defending myself from mosquitoes, dear fly’s, bees, wasps and all other flying insects that thoroughly enjoy making my life a living hell in the Summer in the woods! Upon leaving the car we headed in the opposite direction, as we normally would have gone straight to the water and the trail to the power lines. This time we meandered along the trails that Ames Nowell has to offer while Brett snapped picture after picture as we traveled toward the water.

Once we arrived at Cleveland Pond, I immediately noticed a set of three ducks just chilling at the edge of the waterfall, taking a light slumber. Once across the bridge and down the trail lush with wild flowers and all things that sting, Brett encountered a Stag Beetle, who had no idea this was going to be a photo shoot type of day, as well as many geese and ducks.

This was a short blog post, but be sure to tune in next time for Part 2 titled “Frogs and Snakes” I promise it will be a real treat. Click the links below to learn more about Ames Nowell or to plan a visit if you are in the area. Ames Nowell is a rather small Park but boasts great trails and a bird look out and even board walks!

http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/dcr/massparks/region-south/ames-nowell-state-park.html

http://www.nemba.org/ridingzone/Ames_Nowell.html

http://www.whatbird.com/birdexpert/StateColorSize/3/6417/308/birdexpert.aspx

About tosid01

About me??? Boring! I like to photograph nature and the outdoors. I preffer to be outside rather than inside, but I do have my reclusive tendensies as well.
This entry was posted in A Look Back Summer 2013, Adventures, Ames Nowell State Park and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

