~*D.W. Fields Park*~ September 3, 2013

All Summer long Brett has been very eager to capture a photograph or several of the very elusive Great Blue Heron. We see them often but rarely have a camera with us when we see them either together or on  a  separate excursion. Today while on my daily walk, I decided to round the Avon side and the center of D.W. Fields Park, down the street from me. I saw many picture worthy sights.

There had been a huge surge of Thunderstorms threatening to invade us…(LOVE IT) so I left my phone and camera at home. There was a Great Blue Heron perched watching guard over his swamp on the Avon side, and several turtles enjoying the last few rays of sunshine. Chipmunks galore! And even a few toads hopping along enjoying their adventures. Songbirds chirped as a hawk loomed nearby. Why had I left my camera and phone behind? The Park was booming with wildlife in their own natural element, and then there was myself and a few stay joggers and fellow walkers.

While rounding the Center of the Park, which is divided into three separate yet unique sections, Avon side, Family or the Center, and the Pleasant Street Side. I passed the Duck feeding area, and what was perched within a few feet of my wondering eyes? A Great Blue Heron perched ever so peacefully upon a rock protruding in the pond. When I arrived back at home to retrieve my camera as the storm threat had turned into a very sunny evening Brett was anticipating his great shot…Alas this is all we got. The Heron was gone…Better luck next time I guess.

About tosid01

About me??? Boring! I like to photograph nature and the outdoors. I preffer to be outside rather than inside, but I do have my reclusive tendensies as well.
This entry was posted in Adventures, D.W Fields Park, Home and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

