Robins Nest with Eggs

Back on I want to say the 23rd of April a Female Robin was hard at work building herself a nest in which to lay her eggs. She would come and go. Collecting Grass and other materials to build her nest so she could bring new and much awaited life to the Earth. I watched her and silently captured roughly 30 images, and a video as well.

On May 1st I noticed eggs in her nest and remember being so excited. I showed Brett and Zak my findings, I expressed with neighbors my excitement as well. Thursday the second, my neighbors below and across the fence had a few kids over after school and were noisy, as kids generally are. Friday morning I woke to see no eggs in the nest and sadly the mother hasn’t returned, the nest currently is vacant, a shame to have so much hard work and dedication go to waste.

Whether or not the nest was disturbed by noise or other predators is unknown…either way the eggs are all gone and so is the mother Robin. Leaving me wishing the five of them well wishes! There were actually four eggs I could only capture two because of my lack of view.

 

About tosid01

About me??? Boring! I like to photograph nature and the outdoors. I preffer to be outside rather than inside, but I do have my reclusive tendensies as well.
This entry was posted in Adventures, My Balcony and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Robins Nest with Eggs

  1. Last year I had a pair of Albert’s Towhees build a nest in a fuchsia on my back patio. Unfortunately, fuchsias where I live require a lot of watering so it was either lose my prize fuchsia or have the birds eventually leave because I was on the patio too often watering my fuchsias. Ultimately, the two birds took off and left me with four eggs. I left the nest alone but a couple of weeks later some varmint broke them open and ate them. See http://russelrayphotos2.com/2012/05/03/when-great-horned-owls-attack/

Leave a Reply

